STAMPING 411 – SSC158 (updated)

I got a little creative last night, which surprised me as had a nausea bug over the weekend and last time I was sick it took me forever to get back into creating!  My son unfortunately came down with the same thing last night as well only he had worse symptoms poor boy (the floor of his car is proof of that!).

I love getting inspiration from sketches over on Stamping 411 and this weeks sketch SSC 158 is simple yet elegant.

Here is my card, although I might try again with another stamp set and colours later in the week.

Card: So Saffron, Not Quite Navy, Very Vanilla

Ink: Not Quite Navy

Stamp: Friends 24-7

Other: So Saffron 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon, Hemp Twine, Swiss Dots Embossing Folder (non SU)

UPDATE (7.7.10)

I’m updating my card from the above as something wasn’t just quite right in my eyes when I posted yesterday, so I just added another layer as well as an image under my bird on a new card….. umm next time I should just wait to see if I’m completely happy before posting!

With this card I have masked my bird image before stamping the second image with So Saffron of which I stamped off the ink.

Masking is where you stamp the same image on another piece of paper & cut exactly around the image – I use a post a note so I have some “sticking” already there, or you can use repositioning tape on the back – then position over the original stamped image.  This allows you to stamp another image over the top & yet it looks to the background when completed.  If you don’t want the background image to be too bold then by stamping off the ink – ink up stamp, stamp on scrap paper, then using stamp again without reinking – will give a softer lighter image.

What do you think, did this improve my first attempt???

Until later, happy stampin’

5 thoughts on “STAMPING 411 – SSC158 (updated)

  1. These are both great Kerri – but I do love the changes you made. They really up the Wow factor! Cakes and cards can never have too many layers! 🙂
    Thanks for playing with the 411 this week!

Leave a Reply

