Male 21st Card

Well I have been super slack with getting any posts up for the past week, but the biggest reason is I’ve been having internet connection problems at home! aarhhh!!!   It seems to just keep dropping me out mid way through downloading, so had given up in frustration.

Anyway this is the card I have been wanting to share all week. 

I always seem to struggle with male cards but this is my card I made for my neighbour – Simon, who turned 21yrs last weekend.

I have used the stamp set Cheers To You for the theme.  I stamped a second image on a post-it note & cut out the handle & glass section to use as stencil, so I could sponge some colour into the glasses.  I then used Crystal Effects & applied to the foam area to give some dimension to the image….. I must admit after I’d gone to all that trouble I then thought I could have used my Blender Pens to give the same effect, as the current In Colours don’t have Stampin’ Write markers.

For the strip of Very Vanilla I ran it through the Crimper to give another dimensional effect on the card – I did this technique instead of using ribbon.  I then stamped “21” over the top of the card to announce the occasion! 

On the inside I lined the back of the card as I usually do, but I added a slit to the cardstock before adhering to the card, this allowed me to add his gift – some Gift Vouchers for our local shopping centre.

Card: Soft Suede, Baja Breeze, Very Vanilla

Stamp Set: Cheers to You, On Your Birthday

Ink: Soft Suede, Baja Breeze

Other: 1 1/4″ circle punch, 1 3/8″ circle punch, Crimper, Crystal Effects, Dimensionals, non SU embossing folder, non SU numbers stamp

I decided to make another version of the same card but just change the top half of the card to make it a universal male card.

Happy Birthday again Simon!

Until later, happy stampin’

Kerri

6 thoughts on “Male 21st Card

  1. Male cards are one thing that give me trouble but these are great Kerri! How did you make that effect on the bottom half of cards?
    Tam

  2. I really like this masculine card; I so often get stampers block when I need to make a card; thanks for the idea

  3. This is terrific and will be cased for an upcoming class. People want birthday for guys. Could also be a college graduation. So glad Baja Breeze is coming back. I love it.

Leave a Reply

